Archive for June 6th, 2011

June 6, 2011

‘First Class’: The Latest Chapter in the ‘X-Men’ Gay-Rights Parable: I See Gay People

by Accidental Bear


The series is tailor-made to echo the struggle of real-life oppressed groups

xmen magnet.jpg

In X-Men: First Class, one young mutant-human tells another, “You have no idea what I’d give to feel … normal.” It’s a moment anyone who went to high school can empathize with, though it might mean something more to those who grew up gay—the adolescent experience when you discover, like the X-Men, something in your nature that makes you different from the majority of the people around you.

Parallels between the mutant experience and the gay experience pervade First Class, which opened on Friday to a weekend box-office haul of $56 million. The film, a prequel to the modern X-Men movie series, tells the franchise’s origin myth: Genetic mutations create a cadre of young superheros who use their powers for good—in this case, by attempting to defuse the Cuban Missile Crisis. The mutants are, unmistakably, a social minority. The film’s catchphrase is “mutant and proud,” a playful riff on post-Stonewall self-acceptance, and a “don’t ask, don’t tell” joke even finds its way into the dialogue.

In its own way, X-Men has become the most subversive modern comic-book franchise, translating for a country of summer moviegoers the entire theater of gay politics. The agenda was set with the original X-Men in 2000, directed by the openly gay Bryan Singer. “It’s not just a fantasy story,” Singer reportedly toldactor Ian McKellen, a fervent LGBT-rights activist, to lure him into a starring role as Magneto. “It’s a parable.” And indeed, it has been. In the first film, the superheroes are opposed by a U.S. senator who cries out, in a nod to Anita Bryant‘s “Save Our Children” campaign, “I think the American people deserve the right to decide whether they want their children … to be taught by mutants!” The follow-up, 2003’s X2, made its point more boldly, in a scene that so closely resembles a “coming out” it borders on camp—the mother asks her son, “Have you ever tried not being a mutant?” before she gives up entirely and says, “This is all my fault.” READ MORE

“You have no idea what I’d give to feel … normal.” 

June 6, 2011

Armless Man Trashes Hotel Lobby in South Beach, FL | Video

by Accidental Bear

It is completely possible to be freaked out via your computer screen, this is proof. No arms needed to F up a perfectly fine hotel lobby. It alarms me that the other people in the lobby are encouraging him. Damn humans.

 

June 6, 2011

Moment of Wow: U2 Beams Down Space Message for Concert | Video

by Accidental Bear

PHOENIX (AP) – Space shuttle Endeavour commander Mark Kelly delivered an out-of-this-world message to a U2 concert after Bono dedicated the song “Beautiful Day” to Kelly’s wife, Arizona Rep. Gabrielle Giffords.

Bono told the crowd at Seattle’s Qwest Field on Saturday night, “Imagine a man looking down on us from 200 miles up. Looking down at our beautiful crowded planet. What would he say to us? What is on your mind Commander Kelly?”

Kelly then appeared on a video board from the International Space Station and quoted lyrics from David Bowie’s `Space Oddity.’ “Tell my wife I love her very much,” he told the surprised crowd. source www.katu.com

June 6, 2011

Scouts Get Prepared for More Gay Recruits

by Accidental Bear

“It’s OK to be gay and a Scout!”

BE PREPARED – for equality. In a landmark decision, the Scouts are looking to welcome more gay recruits and leaders.
Britain’s best-known youth organisation is keen to dispel the myth that homosexuals cannot join the organisation and as part of this it has produced a document entitled ‘It’s OK to be gay and a Scout!’ READ MORE
June 6, 2011

Hair Balls of the Day 3 for 1: Smut

by Accidental Bear

Source: furjacked.tumblr.com

 

 

June 6, 2011

The Fully Sick Rapper

by Accidental Bear

This story is fascinating, touching and I totally entertaining. Who knew Tuberculosis could look so good?

Watch this!! http://www.youtube.com/watc… It’s the first episode of my new web series “Fully Sick and the Side Effect Project”!

 

I have recently been through a tricky medical situation, having spent over 6 months quarantined in a hospital room with MDR-TB (Bad-ass Tuberculosis), but it wasn’t a negative experience for me. This time spent alone, helped me learn some new skills, and realise that I dig creating music and videos… Although I’m heaps tough and shit, please don’t cyber-bully me. I’ve read stories about that, and it sounds really horrible. The way you can’t escape it because it’s online… and now I spend a fair bit of time online. So if you ARE a cyber-bully, and were thinking of Cyber-bullying me, then discretely send me your bank details and I’ll wire you some of my lunch money… That way everybody wins. I don’t look like a push over, and you get your lunch money… I’ve got mad street cred to uphold within the hip hop community.

Come and say hi on my Facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/ful…

Follow me on Twitter @fullysickrapper

June 6, 2011

Anthony Weiner Press Conference: Admits Sending Racy Pictures, Refuses To Resign| Video

by Accidental Bear

Weiner I forgive you, so lets all move on now. It is such a minor deal compared to bills on the table in the congress that need our focus. All the hype is a distraction from political boredom. We all secretly, deep down inside want to se Weiner’s wiener. He made a “mistake” and has apologized. Let’s all hold on hands and let go.

NEW YORK — Rep. Anthony Weiner (D-N.Y.) insisted he’s staying in office Monday, even as a string of embarrassing new revelations and photos emerged that apparently reveal a hidden, lascivious online life.

At first, Weiner vehemently denied that a photo of an underwear-clad erection, sent via Twitter to a 21-year-old woman, had come from him, insisting he’d been hacked.

But conservative blogger Andrew Breitbart and his website, BigGovernment.com, rolled out a series of new pictures Monday, including a shirtless shot that appears to depict Weiner flexing and photographing himself. MORE

June 6, 2011

Circumcision Battle Takes Odd Turn When you Add a Anti-Semitic Novel

by Accidental Bear


via Advocate.com Editors

Foreskin Man comic book Matthew Hess X390 (GRAB) | ADVOCATE.COM

An effort to ban circumcision for anyone under the age of 18 is now complicated by a graphic novel that many are calling anti-Semitic.

San Francisco is set to vote on the ban in November, and an effort is under way to ban the practice in Santa Monica, Calif., just west of Los Angeles. The debate has been pitched already, but the discovery of a comic book that depicts Jews as knife-wielding, bloodthirsty villains is sparking an outcry. The San Francisco Chronicle  discovered the Foreskin Man comic book, which was written and created by Matthew Hess, the president of MGM (male genital mutilation) Bill, an anticircumcision group based in San Diego. Hess told the Chronicle he doesn’t see his comic book as anti-Semitic, but Jewish leaders say it reeks of European hate imagery that sprang up around World War II.

READ MORE 

June 6, 2011

For the love of Ewan McGregor: New Autobiographical Comedy, “Beginners”

by Accidental Bear

For the love of Ewan McGregor. I would cut off my left pink for this man (I don’t use it much anyhow).

 

One of the things that impressed filmmaker Mike Mills most when he directed Ewan McGregor in his new autobiographical comedy, “Beginners,” was that the actor “has an open heart. It’s hard to find in a straight guy, like an emotionally available, emotionally vulnerable, emotionally willing to be vulnerable straight guy. It’s really hard,” he said last year during the Toronto International Film Festival.

“When I watch the movie, I kind of fall in love with Ewan.”

http://focusfeatures.com/beginners

 

Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2011/06/03/PK5F1JL24O.DTL#ixzz1OWb8AbnR

June 6, 2011

Handpicked Headlines: Booze-Free Event, Weiner, Palin, Alcatraz Triathlon & More

by Accidental Bear

Agriculture Industry Fears Disaster If Illegal Immigration Enforcement Program E-Verify Is Implemented WASHINGTON — The agriculture industry fears a disaster is on the horizon if the one bit of new immigration policy that Congress seems to agree on becomes law.

Indiana Abortion Showdown Could Cost State $4.3 Billion NDIANAPOLIS — A looming showdown over Indiana’s new law that cuts funding for the Planned Parenthood organization may test how far Republican-led states are willing to go in pressing their tough new anti-abortion agendas. 

France’s First Gay Marriage “It’s a symbol for millions of gays and lesbians who would like to have the same rights,” Nicot said of her marriage. France’s constitutional court upheld the nation’s ban on same-sex marriage in January.

Anthony Weiner Twitter Scandal: New Photos Emerge (VIDEO)  The controversy surrounding the lewd photographsent from Rep. Anthony Weiner‘s (D-N.Y.) Twitter account took a new turn Monday. Andrew Breitbart‘s website BigGovernment.com claims that a new woman has come forward with photos, chats, and emails sent to her by the congressman that suggest the two were involved in “an online, consensual relationship involving the mutual exchange of intimate photographs.”

Sarah Palin On Paul Revere Ride: I Didn’t Get History Wrong (VIDEO) WASHINGTON (AP/The Huffington Post) –– Sarah Palin says she didn’t mess up her history on Paul Revere. The potential 2012 presidential candidate was in Boston on Thursday as part of her bus tour when she was asked about the Revolutionary War hero.  

LOCAL SAN FRANCISCO NEWS:

Escape From Alcatraz Triathlon draws almost 2,000  Athletes swim past Alcatraz en route to the Marina during the first leg of the 31st annual Escape From Alcatraz Triathlon. The 1 1/2-mile swim was followed by an 18-mile bike ride and an 8-mile run.

The Prettiest Recycling Bin in Town  SFist was walking along Larkin Street near Ellis the other day, amidst the myriad of delicious Vietnamese joints, and were stopped in our tracks by this rather festive-looking recycling bin.

Union Street Festival Side Party Taunts the Booze-Free Event UNION STREET FAIR has “no booze” and no “rock n roll” in the beer gardens this year? Big deal. The bars will be slammed and people will be having fun all over the place. Join us for our 4th Annual “after-party” soiree beginning at 5pm where it all started three years ago, The Republic (formerly JONES). We will be dancing it up in there like Kevin Bacon in “Foot Loose.”  

Apple unveils iCloud at WWDC Apple this morning is scheduled to unveil iCloud, its new suite of online services, at the kickoff of its Worldwide Developers Conference. Apple CEO Steve Jobs is set to lead the keynote, which will also include previews of the next generation of Apple’s operating systems — iOS, which powers iPhones and iPads, and Mac OS X, which runs on laptops and desktops. We’re at Moscone Center this morning, and you can read our liveblog below. Posts will be sporadic until the scheduled kickoff at 10 a.m.

June 6, 2011

Animated Drunken Voicemails Are Painful to Listen to and Hilarious

by Accidental Bear

Animated Drunken Voicemail of the Day: Redditor HisFriendEvan says: “I just found out that my friend has been saving my drunken voicemails to him so that he can animate them later.”

DON’T DRUNK CALL!

 

 

 

My Friend Evan: Episode 1 from Steve Rold on Vimeo.

June 6, 2011

“Taking Punk to the Masses: From Nowhere to Nevermind” Book

by Accidental Bear

via Selectism

Taking Punk to the Masses Book

NPR’s All Songs points our attention to a new book by Jacob McMurray that looks to dissect the rise and commercial success of the grunge movement and a look into the history of punk from the perspective of the Pacific Northwest. Taking Punk to the Masses looks to open with a discussion of The Kingsmen’s “Louie, Louie.”

Taking Punk to the Masses: From Nowhere to Nevermind Taking Punk to the Masses: From Nowhere to Nevermind Book visually documents the explosion of Grunge, the Seattle Sound, within the context of the underground punk subculture that was developing throughout the u.S. in the late 1970s and 1980s. The book serves as a companion and contextual backdrop to the Nirvana: Taking Punk to the Masses exhibition, which opens at Seattle’s Experience Music Project in 2011. This decade-and-a-half musical journey will be represented entirely through the lens of EMP’s oral history and permanent object collection, an invaluable and rich cultural archive of over 800 interviews and 140,000 objects — instruments, costumes, posters, records and other ephemera dedicated to the pursuit of rock ’n’ roll.

The book is out now on the excellent Fantagraphics imprint and includes a companion DVD. Amazon Taking Punk to the Masses: From Nowhere to Nevermind Book has it.

June 6, 2011

Fox News uses Tina Fey Photo for Sarah Palin Report: Don’t Hate, Congratulate! |Video

by Accidental Bear

How amazing is this. I say cut them some slack and instead congratulate Tina Fey for an excellent performance. Don’t hate, congratulate!

It appears that the Fox News graphic department doesn’t know what their own employees look like.

During a segment reporting that Sarah Palin was undecided on whether or not to jump into the 2012 presidential race, the news channel showed a photo of Tina Fey imitating the former Republican vice presidential candidate in 2008.

In 2009, Fox News management sent out a memo to employees saying that on-screen errors would no longer be tolerated.

“Effective immediately, there is zero tolerance for on-screen errors,” the memo said. “Mistakes by any member of the show team that end up on air may result in immediate disciplinary action against those who played significant roles in the ‘mistake chain,’ and those who supervise them. That may include warning letters to personnel files, suspensions, and other possible actions up to and including termination, and this will all obviously play a role in performance reviews.” via videocafe.crooksandliars.com

Watch Video: http://embed.crooksandliars.com/v/MjA4MjctNDY5NzI?color=C93033

Related articles

June 6, 2011

Singer, Song Writer Eric Himan Tells Me Why “You First” | Interview with Accidental Bear

by Accidental Bear
Look what I caught in my dream catcher, Eric Himan. While watching his stellar performance at the El Rio here in San Francisco last month I got pulled into a story he told during his introduction for his new song “You First”. He puts into words something that I have scratch my head over before but was not able to but into a coherent sentence. I have  followed Eric’s career blossom for years now and always impressed by his laid back (charming) demeanor and how approachable he is, no pretension. He breathes passion into his music and gives you an inside look at his personal thoughts. I say, Eric “Thanks for sharing!” I catch up with Eric and cover a large variety of topics; puppies, pride, tornadoes, new album, secrets and being happily partnered. Happy reading, thanks for taking the time to play with us here at Accidental Bear Eric.
 “I started writing music and lyrics because I felt that no one was telling my story with their music. I have had the opportunity to speak my thoughts and I think that is the most vulnerable thing in life you can do. You can tell people what you like and don’t like but when you let them into how you think and why, you share yourself in a major way. I am lucky to be a part of many friendships and can’t wait to see what is next in store.” – Eric Himan

Q & A:

A B: Ok, let’s start with a warm up question. What does pride mean to you? You can attach gay to the front of it or just leave it alone as all-encompassing pride.

Eric Himan: To me, Pride (gay or otherwise) is about celebrating being a part of a community. In a way, I feel it is a gift to have a commonality with a group of people like the LGBT community. Pride celebrations are a way to show the numbers that are out there to those who didn’t think there were that many of us:).

A B: You are coming back from a break? What did you keep yourself busy with on our down time? Day dreaming? Wii, writing a novel, eating potato chips?

Eric: I did have some downtime but I am a one man army when it comes to my career, so that time was spent booking, doing publicity, working radio, and filming parts for a music video (for “Dust”!). When I am not doing all that, I like to sleep and spend time with my 4-year-old doggie, Duncan, and my brand new puppy, 6 month old, Buster. Potato Chips are my weakness though.

A B: Are you constantly writing songs in your head unintentionally? 

Eric: I am. I feel my best songwriting happens when I am not trying to write or push myself into writing. Those are the moments I run to the piano/computer/pen and paper to get it out of my head. 

A B: You are just wrapping up your tour with Namoli Brennet. What was a highlight of the tour or something unbelievable that happened, good or bad?

Eric: The highlight was definitely being able to share the stage with my friend, Namoli. I am such an admirer of hers and getting to sing and play with her every night of the tour was a treat. The hardest part was being away from my family when the tornadoes came through Tulsa and I wasn’t there with my family. I am def not a fan of living in Tulsa because of the tornadoes, but not knowing how they were doing during it, scared me.

A B:  I am very interested in your, “You First” song and the message that backs it. As one that may step back and prays someone else goes first. It is really point of view I have never heard discussed. Tell me about the concept behind You First

Eric: I wrote You First on an airplane Martin Luther King Jr. weekend. I was flying to Tucson to finish recording my new cd with Namoli (whose studio is in Tucson) and it was the week after Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords was shot at a Safeway not too far from where we were going to record. I was also listening to Arlo Guthrie on a CD talk about his father, the amazing Woody Guthrie. He said, “there is a price to be paid for being a leader”. I felt all these things come together and decided right then and there on the plane to spill it out. The message was to say that when you stand up to make you voice heard, you also make yourself a target. Many times, we tend to stay on the sideline waiting for some leader to stand up when we possess that power ourselves. I make myself a target, but sometimes standing up for what you believe is more important.

A B: What does your summer looks like? Playing any festivals that I should drive a 1,000 miles or so to see?

Eric: I am all over the place (right now I am writing this from Kitchener, Ontario up in Canada where I play Kitchener’s tri-Pride tomorrow). I will be in Columbus, OH, Albuquerque, NM, the Outer Banks, NC, then in July over to the northeast with shows in PA, NYC, and MA. August has me in Chicago for North Halsted Market Days. Booking some dates also in the midwest then too. If you were to drive, I would head to the Chicago show. I will have a four piece rock band with me ready to make some noise on the streets of Chi-town.

A B: On your new album you have brought in the mastering talents of Chris Bellman (Ani DiFranco, Alanis Morissette, Elton John). You totally hold your own in that group. Have you worked with Chris Bellman in the past? 

Eric: This was the first time working with Chris and he did an amazing job. He has mastered many of my favorite, influential albums and having him work on my disc, was extra special.  

A B:  What would your response be if someone called you a sex symbol?

Eric: I def. appreciate the compliment when it comes up but I honestly don’t know what to do with that. I never seek out that kind of attention and sometimes surprised when it comes up.  I think if I thought about it too much, I would get even shyer than I can be already. 

A B: As a kid did you have positive role models? How do they differ from your role models of today?

Eric: I think my role models growing up were a lot of strong women. I lost my mother at a very young age and I think that might have something to do with that. Positive role models growing up were women like Ani DiFranco, Patty Griffin, and Janis Joplin. As I’ve gotten older my role models have become my grandmother Grace, my partner, and my close friends. I’ve learned so much from those surrounding me.  I am lucky to have them in my life to take after:).

A B: You are happily partnered and 2 dogs (right?) Your thoughts on gay marriage, gay adoption and the term civil union opposed to married.

Eric: I am very happily partnered and definitely want the full benefits of marriage (including a proper wedding!). Gay adoption has to be the biggest hot button for me because I can’t understand why some children are denied parents who will love them and want them. Civil unions are a great start, but if we are going to start the conversation of gay marriage, let’s not just talk about it during election years.

A B: Anybody you would love to share the stage with or record with?

Eric: There are SOOO many people I would love to record with/share the stage. There is something about Natalie Merchant and her music that makes me want to nominate her first! Of course, Ani DiFranco, Beth Hart, and Sia would be fun to work with.

A B: So, gay pride month is just around the corner. Will you be parading around the streets wrapped in nothing but a gay flag?

Eric: I am a tad bit more subtle than that.ha. I am happy to represent my brand of music at the festivals.

A B: Tell, me where you hope this next album takes you?

Eric: I hope this next album opens up more opportunities for me to tour to places I haven’t played yet, building up the audiences I already (and thankfully!) have in many cities, travel to Europe to tour, and have a chance to fulfill my dream of working with those I admire (which I already have done working with Namoli).

A B: Tell me (us) an Eric Himan original secret or confession.

Eric: I wanted to go to puppetry school and be an actor when I was younger. I always had an interest in doing them but never the right time to try.

A B: In the next year what should we expect from you?

Eric: You should expect to hear some of the songs from the new CD on the radio, in TV, and movies. I will also be releasing a live DVD from my Tulsa CD Release Party concert (with a string quartet!!). 

More on Eric:

CATCH HIM IF YOU CAN!

June 6, 2011

New Yorkers United for Marriage TV Ad| Video # 2

by Accidental Bear

The Blumenthal’s story

Smart, honest, straight forward with no frills, perfect.

New Yorkers United for Marriage
is a coalition dedicated to ensuring the passage of
marriage equality legislation in the
Empire State.